In Loving Memory of My Grandma Marie


   This week and month, I remember my loving Grandma Marie who passed away one year ago. At her funeral we adorned her with pink roses and baby’s breath. This picture reminds me of this. She loved flowers, being outdoors, traveling, reading, and family. Marie was a devote Catholic who always attended church with my grandpa (when he was alive) as well as bible study. My grandma was active right up until the end with a keen mind and faithful heart. She was the heart of our family and kept everyone together by staying in touch with her two adult children, all the grandchildren and her great-grandchildren. She had many friends and was active in service to many organizations. She overcame many obstacles including several bouts with cancer, the death of her father at age 16 and the inability to have biological children (which is why they adopted). My grandma had boundless courage and spunk, was a great cook, and truly lived life to the fullest. I am so grateful to have spent so much time with her and learned much from her.

I remember learning how to cook family recipes with her, baking cookies at Christmastime, and developing a love for reading from a book she gave me as a gift. She taught me how to shuffle a deck of cards when I was a kid, introduced me to hiking and imparted a love of the arts such as painting, sewing, decorating, and card making. Most of all, my grandma gave me a proud Irish heritage and family values that will live with me forever.

Marie supported me and all the family with such love and devotion. She was never afraid to tell you what was on her mind and although we often had differences of opinion, were very much alike. My grandma was a big part of who I am today and I will always miss her. Thankfully, we took many pictures of our numerous adventures together and I was able to spend lots of time sharing many different experiences.  I am so grateful she saw me graduate from college, get married, have a successful career, and adopt my loving Chihuahua buttercup. I’m also grateful I made amends to her for all the pain I caused her while growing up; as now I have a clear conscious knowing that we had a close relationship.

Today, let your loved ones know what they mean to you. Cherish your time together. Apologize for any wrongdoings and don’t let old resentments or differences of opinion create a wedge between you and your family. Resolve petty arguments and remember it is better to be happy, than right.

I love you grandma. I know you are in Heaven with Grandpa, your sister, brothers and parents as well as many dear friends. You will be forever in my heart.

Leave a Reply

