Meditating my way to Peace


Today I meditated soon after waking up, before jumping into my day and the results never cease to amaze me. The instant tranquility as I’m transported to another world of pure joy, love, and manifested dreams. It is heaven on earth. I visioned my retreat center’s Memorial Garden’s with rose garden labyrinth and even sketched out a rough plan of the area; how there’d be big bottle trees at each corner of the rectangle garden with labyrinth in the middle and a beautiful arch as the gateway into/out. There would even be a birdbath and beautiful 3 tier fountain in the center of the labyrinth with cement benches for reflection there. For anyone who’s walked this sacred path, reflection in the middle is one of the most incredible experiences. I saw large evergreen hedges lining the perimeter of the gardens and a memorial wall where loved one’s can remember their loved ones (children) who have passed.

This garden is dedicated to my daughter Faith Anne who died August 11th, 2005 before she was even born and who has impacted my life in so many ways. I love her as much now as I did they day I found out I was pregnant and her father and I continue to honor her memory. I think its important to have places to physically morn, plant a tree, place a placarded, and see your child’s name to honor the significant place they hold not only in your heart’s but in the world’s since each life is precious and meaningful. With miscarriage, the mother’s womb is the place of conception and termination which leaves her with a tremendous amount of mixed feelings and grief. And then others, dismiss this grief because the child wasn’t born yet, the pain is only compounded.

Thankfully, now my husband and I are “puppy parents” with a female Chihuahua. She’s 13 weeks old now and the pride/joy of our lives.  She’s very therapeutic for us during this time of year. Anniversaries for death or loss suck! However, there is always peace in knowing I will see her in heaven. Until then, I have meditation and we have her Spirit in our puppy Buttercup!

Meditation, transports us out of this world; anywhere in fact. Find our “happy place” to cope with life’s challenges and then go there often. I find comfort and solace there with her. I am so grateful for meditation in my life and EMDR (which really helped me break PTSD). (I’ll explain in another post)

Leave a Reply

